Unboxing

UNBOXING: The Candle Lit Shelf’s Infernal Romance Candle Box

Hey, avid readers! I am very excited to write my first review for a candle box! I’ve already reviewed book subscription boxes before, but I haven’t reviewed a candle box yet. So, here it is!

Continue reading “UNBOXING: The Candle Lit Shelf’s Infernal Romance Candle Box”

Advertisements
Book Review · mini book reviews

MINI BOOK (overdue) REVIEWS #1: REVIEW COPIES (mostly fantasy) EDITION

Hey, avid readers! It’s that (very rare) time when I get to realize that I haven’t written a review yet for the books that I’ve read for the last couple of months, especially review copies (AND I’M SO FREAKING ASHAMED RIGHT NOW I’M TELLING YOU I COULD LIVE 50 FEET UNDERGROUND FOR 50 YEARS!!!) and I’m glad that I already have to motivation to write reviews again.

giphy

JUST A WARNING!!! Please prepare your snacks because this is gonna be long. I’ll be reviewing SIX books in this post. But of course, just short and sweet reviews, because, DUH, it’s a MINI-REVIEW. So, are you ready? Are you? Are you? ‘Cause I ain’t but we gotta do this NOW!

Continue reading “MINI BOOK (overdue) REVIEWS #1: REVIEW COPIES (mostly fantasy) EDITION”

Book Review · Review 2017 · Uncategorized

REVIEW + GIVEAWAY: Everything All At Once by Katrina Leno

TITLE: Everything All At Once

AUTHOR: Katrina Leno

PUBLISHER: HarperCollins

PUBLICATION DATE: July 25, 2017

newproject_1_original

From the author of The Half Life of Molly Pierce and The Lost & Found comes a magical new YA novel about 24 dares, 3 weeks, and taking a leap into the unknown.

Lottie Reeves has always struggled with anxiety, and when her beloved Aunt Helen dies, Lottie begins to fear that her own unexpected death might be waiting around every corner.

Aunt Helen wasn’t a typical aunt. She was the author of the best–selling Alvin Hatter series, about siblings who discover the elixir of immortality. Her writing inspired a generation of readers.

In her will, she leaves one last writing project—just for Lottie. It’s a series of letters, each containing mysterious instructions designed to push Lottie out of her comfort zone. Soon, Lottie’s trying some writing of her own, leaping off cliffs, and even falling for a boy she’s only just met. Then the letters reveal an extraordinary secret about the inspiration for the Alvin Hatter series. Lottie finds herself faced with an impossible choice, one that will force her to confront her greatest fear once and for all.

This gorgeous novel is perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, with the scavenger hunt feel of Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes, and a dash of magic that evokes Tuck Everlasting.

(Read more for my review.)

Continue reading “REVIEW + GIVEAWAY: Everything All At Once by Katrina Leno”

Book Review · Uncategorized

REVIEW: Fireworks by Katie Cotugno

18444209_535156263274945_9144119230134747136_n

TITLE: Fireworks

AUTHOR: Katie Cotugno

PUBLISHER: HarperCollins

PUBLICATION DATE: April 18, 2017

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

From Katie Cotugno, bestselling author of 99 Days, comes Fireworks—about a girl who is competing with her best friend to become the new pop star of the moment—and all the drama and romance that comes with it—set in Orlando during the late-’90s boy-and-girl-band craze.

It was always meant to be Olivia. She was the talented one, the one who had been training to be a star her whole life. Her best friend, Dana, was the level-headed one, always on the sidelines, cheering her best friend along.

But everything changes when Dana tags along with Olivia to Orlando for the weekend, where superproducer Guy Monroe is holding auditions for a new singing group, and Dana is discovered too. Dana, who’s never sung more than Olivia’s backup. Dana, who wasn’t even looking for fame. Next thing she knows, she and Olivia are training to be pop stars, and Dana is falling for Alex, the earnest, endlessly talented boy who’s destined to be the next big thing.

It should be a dream come true, but as the days of grueling practice and constant competition take their toll, things between Olivia and Dana start to shift . . . and there’s only room at the top for one girl. For Olivia, it’s her chance at her dream. For Dana, it’s a chance to escape a future that seems to be closing in on her. And for these lifelong best friends, it’s the adventure of a lifetime—if they can make it through.

Set in evocative 1990s Orlando, New York Times bestselling author Katie Cotugno’s Fireworks brings to life the complexity of friendship, the excitement of first love, and the feeling of being on the verge of greatness.

(Read more for my review.)

Continue reading “REVIEW: Fireworks by Katie Cotugno”

Book Review

REVIEW: Just a Girl by Carrie Mesrobian

just a girl

TITLE: Just a Girl

AUTHOR: Carrie Mesrobian

PUBLISHER: HarperCollins

PUBLICATION DATE: March 28, 2017

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

Senior Rianne Hettrick-Wynne has had her share of hookups and parties in small-town Wereford, Minnesota. Now volleyball season is over and her once-solid friendships are unraveling, while an all-of-a-sudden relationship with Luke Pinsky is weirdly becoming serious. Add to that the possibility of getting kicked out of her house, and Rianne is desperate to make a plan that doesn’t include going to college or working at Planet Tan for the rest of her life.

At the same time, her divorced parents have started cohabiting again without any explanation, making Rianne wonder why they’re so intent on pointing out every bad choice she makes when they can’t even act like adults.

That’s not the only question she can’t answer: How is it that Sergei, a broken-English-speaking Russian who makes his own vodka, is the only one who seems to understand her? And why, when she has Luke, the most unattainable boy in Wereford, all to herself, does she want anything but?

Perhaps most confounding is the “easy girl” reputation that Rianne has gotten stuck with by doing the same things that guys do without judgment or consequence. If they’re just being guys, then why can’t Rianne just be a girl?

(Read more for my review.)

Continue reading “REVIEW: Just a Girl by Carrie Mesrobian”

Book Review · Review 2017

Powerful dystopian-fantasy | Review: The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova

9781619844414about-the-bookHer vengeance. His vision.

Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five Guilds’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isn’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors.

Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His family’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the Dragons’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon King’s assassins.

When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go.

He offers her the one thing Ari can’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.

Publication: January 10, 2017 by Keymaster Press

Goodreads’ Rating: .34

Buy Links: Book Depository | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

(Read more for my review)

Continue reading “Powerful dystopian-fantasy | Review: The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova”

Book Review · Review 2017

Scared me…then made me cry | REVIEW: Cemetery Tours by Jacqueline E. Smith

about-the-bookSome secrets are best kept laid to rest.

At least, that’s as far as Michael Sinclair is concerned. At twenty-seven, he has spent his entire life pretending that the ghosts he encounters on a daily basis do not exist. Now, if only the dead would let him rest in peace.

Unfortunately, that doesn’t seem likely, especially after Kate Avery and her ailing brother, Gavin, move in next door. Kate and Gavin are haunted, and not by a dearly departed loved one. This spirit is aggressive, menacing, and harboring a dark resentment toward Gavin. In spite of every instinct advising him to walk away, Michael finds himself seeking to uncover the mysteries of Gavin’s past and falling for the bright and lovely Kate. Yet competing for her affection is Luke Rainer, television’s hottest celebrity ghost hunter and the only (living) person to know Michael’s secret.

But the dead have secrets, too. Some will go to any length to withhold what should have gone with them to the grave, while others will risk everything to make their voices heard, even if that means putting another’s life at stake. Now, for the sake of friends and strangers alike, Michael must choose between preserving his cherished anonymity and lending his aid to those for whom all hope seems lost.

Publication: September 14, 2013 by Wind Trail Publishing

Goodreads’ Rating: .35

Buy Links: Book Depository | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

(Read more for my review)

Continue reading “Scared me…then made me cry | REVIEW: Cemetery Tours by Jacqueline E. Smith”