Book Review · mini book reviews

MINI BOOK (overdue) REVIEWS #1: REVIEW COPIES (mostly fantasy) EDITION

Hey, avid readers! It’s that (very rare) time when I get to realize that I haven’t written a review yet for the books that I’ve read for the last couple of months, especially review copies (AND I’M SO FREAKING ASHAMED RIGHT NOW I’M TELLING YOU I COULD LIVE 50 FEET UNDERGROUND FOR 50 YEARS!!!)ย and I’m glad that I already have to motivation to write reviews again.

giphy

JUST A WARNING!!! Please prepare your snacks because this is gonna be long. I’ll be reviewing SIX books in this post. But of course, just short and sweet reviews, because, DUH, it’s a MINI-REVIEW. So, are you ready? Are you? Are you? ‘Cause I ain’t but we gotta do this NOW!

divider (2)

1) The Red Sun (Legends of Orkney #1) by Alane Adams

25868043

Synopsis from Goodreads:

After meeting a strange dwarf in his garage and finding out his substitute English teacher is a witch, twelve-year-old Sam Baron travels through a stonefire to the magical realm of Orkney where he finally learns the truth about his past: his mother is a witch and his father is a descendant of the Norse god, Odin.

“The Red Sun” is the first book in The Legends of Orkney, the spellbinding series of adventure fantasy novels by Alane Adams. It follows Sam to the realm of Orkney where witches, wraiths, and other menacing creatures cause serious peril to the unsuspecting Sam. Now, it’s up to him to save his friends and all of Orkney from a cursed red sun. Can a young witch girl named Mavery help him?

Drawing on Norse mythology, this fantastical story will enthrall middle grade and tween readers with a taste for adventure. As Sam grapples with dark and dangerous elements from his past and confronts his own simmering anger over long ago events, “The Red Sun” sears with wild imagination and breathtaking moments. Follow “The Red Sun” for the high-flying magical ride of your life.

My Thoughts:

Reading this made me remember why I love middle grade books so much! It’s easy to read, full of adventures, so fun and yet there are also heartbreaking moments. It felt good to read from a perspective of a child, refreshing, even. This is like Percy Jackson, because the main character is like Percy who discovers a power and then BAM, world goes upside down. If you’re into adventures, then hop on to this world!

(I was sent a review copy by the author but this does not, in any way, affect my opinion on the book.)

My Rating:

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

2) The Funnyman (Impetus Rising Trilogy #1) by Sophia Whittemore

29795035

Synopsis from Goodreads:

It isn’t a laughing matter when Diana starts to see things in the mist which other people don’t: monsters, gods, and deadly shadows. Yet now she sees another thing, the world of the Impetus, a reality where humans are enslaved and the once-beautiful gods are actually tyrants. Diana must find a way to escape before the exiled king Fear, a vengeful murderer, hunts Diana down to get back something she’s stolen from him. But will her growing feelings for the Prince Isak, the oddly sullen god of comedy, draw her into an all-out war?

My Thoughts:

I think this book has a good story but there was a little downside on how it was written or how to plot was presented. Although there are some boring parts in the book, I still enjoyed some parts of it. Especially the parts wherein I DON’T FREAKING KNOW WHAT I WAS SUPPOSED TO DO MY HEART BECAUSE IT JUST WANNA BURST because I was so nervous of what might happen!!! And also, I was kinda more attached with the villain than with the protagonist (and I LOVE WHEN THIS HAPPENS). I still wanna read the second book though because the world-building is good.

(I was sent a review copy by the author but this does not, in any way, affect my opinion on the book.)

My Rating:

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

3) Empress of a Thousand Skies (Empress of a Thousand Skies #1) by Rhoda Belleza

30269126

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an wants vengeance.

The only surviving heir to an ancient Kalusian dynasty,ย Rheeย has spent her life training to destroy the people who killed her family. Now, on the eve of her coronation, the time has finally come for Rhee to claim her throne – and her revenge.

Alyoshaย is a Wraetan who has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. Despite his popularity, Aly struggles with anti-Wraetan prejudices and the pressure of being perfect in the public eye.

Their paths collide with one brutal act of violence: Rhee is attacked, barely escaping with her life. Aly is blamed for her presumed murder.

The princess and her accused killer are forced to go into hiding – even as a war between planets is waged in Rhee’s name. But soon, Rhee and Aly discover that the assassination attempt is just one part of a sinister plot. Bound together by an evil that only they can stop, the two fugitives must join forces to save the galaxy.

My Thoughts:

AAAAAAAA I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOVE THE STORY I LOVE THE WORLD I LOVE THE CHARACTERS I LOVE THE WRITING I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT IT!!! So, aside from the fact that I love sci-fi, I also love fast-paced reads. Empress of a Thousand Skies is both sci-fi and a fast read. How can I not love it??? How? There’s no how. Okay? NOT LOVING IT IS IMPOSSIBLE. Also, the sequel is coming out this February and I AM SO FREAKING EXCITED. I MISS THE BAD-ASS CHARACTERS. YOU SHOULD READ THIS. NOW. I swear you’ll be blessed by the galaxies if you read this.

(I was sent a review copy by the publisher, Penguin Random House International, but this does not, in any way, affect my opinion on the book.)

My Rating:

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

4) The Raven Trilogy: The First Journey by Melka Stansah

28490385

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Raven has lived as an outcast his entire life. When secrets are revealed to him, his world is turned upside down.

No mother, no father, he now stands alone.

His quest for revenge leads him on a path beyond his wildest dreams.

Filled with self discovery, love and heart-ache – this book will be sure to make you laugh and cry.

Will Raven find the answer he is looking for?

My Thoughts:

This book is action-packed and during those action scenes, I couldn’t help but think that it’s like a lighter version of Game of Thrones. Melka’s writing is so good, I swear! I also love the plot and how the story was shown. I did not expect it to be a coming-of-age story and I loved it. I thought it was just a middle-grade book, but naaaah. IT’S A VERY GOOD COMING-OF-AGE BOOK AND YOU’LL LOVE IT IF YOU READ IT!!! Trust me on this one. ๐Ÿ˜‰

(I was sent a review copy by the author but this does not, in any way, affect my opinion on the book.)

My Rating:

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

5) The Art of Feeling by Laura Tims

29905711

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Nivenโ€™s New York Times bestsellerย All the Bright Places, this contemporary YA novel explores the friendship between a girl in constant pain and a boy who feels nothing at all.

Since the car accident, Samantha Herring has been in pain, not only from her leg injury, but also from her motherโ€™s death, which has devastated her family. After pushing away her friends, Sam has receded into a fog of depression.

But then Sam meets Eliot, a reckless loner with an attitude and an amazing secretโ€”he canโ€™t feel any pain. At first, Sam is jealous. But then she learns more about his medical conditionโ€ฆand his self-destructive tendencies. In fact, Eliot doesnโ€™t seem to care about anything at allโ€”except maybe Sam. As they grow closer, they begin to confront Samโ€™s painful memories of the accidentโ€”memories that may hold a startling truth about what really happened that day.

My Thoughts:

Uhm, so, sorry, but I couldn’t really remember this book. BUT, I DO KNOW THAT I LIKED IT BECAUSE I RATED IT FOUR STARS ON GOODREADS. Aaaaa gahd, I suck at remembering contemporary novels. I’m so sorry. It’s just that, it’s already been six months since I read this. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ GUILTY AF GUILTY AF GUILTY AF GUILTY AF. I’M SORRRRRYYYYY. BUT PLEASE GO AND READ THIS BECAUSE I REMEMBER I SHED A TEAR IN THIS BOOK.

(I was sent a review copy by the publisher, HarperCollins International, but this does not, in any way, affect my opinion on the book.)

My Rating:

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

6) IA: Initiate (IA #1) by John Darryl Winston

35508416

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Everyone has secrets… What if you didn’t know your own?

One young man with latent supernatural abilities plus one street gang hell-bent on recruiting him equals… IA: Initiate.

The most importantย thing in the world to thirteen-year-old orphan, “Naz” Andersen is keeping his little sister safe from the streets of a Chicago/Detroit-like urban ghetto known as the Exclave. Naz tries to stay out of the way at his foster parent’s home, but he walks in his sleep. He is unable to keep the fact that he hears voices from his therapist. He attempts to go unnoticed at school and in the streets of the Exclave but attracts the attention of friends and bullies alike.

Naz is ordinary, or so he thinks. He harbors a secret of which he is unaware. A seemingly random act of gang violence propels Naz on a path that leads to discoveries about his supernatural abilities, abilities that will ultimately decide whether he lives or dies. Now he must navigate his turbulent surroundings and face the full force of the world around him. The only way he can survive is to discover the supernatural world within.

My Thoughts:

Oh, another sci-fi/fantasy book that I adore and can somehow compare to Percy Jackson. I don’t know why I keep comparing Percy Jackson to other books that I read. I hope you won’t mind though. So, you see, I’m comparing it to Percy because the main character in this book has supernatural powers but he didn’t know it yet and he didn’t know why. So, sounds like Percy, eh? But, even if I’m comparing it to Percy, the writing style and the story in general is still good. It was written smoothly and it’s so easy to read. I also got somehow attached to Naz and his little sister WHO IS SUPER CUUUTE. I’M EXCITED TO READ THE SECOND BOOK, TOO! I feel like there’s so much waiting for me in book two. ๐Ÿ˜‰

(I was sent a review copy by the author but this does not, in any way, affect my opinion on the book.)

My Rating:

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

divider (2)

Thaaaat’s the end of my guiltย  mini book reviews. I hope you found something that caught your attention or something that you’d want to read based off on my review.

Have you read any of the books mentioned here? If none yet, which of these books do you want to read soon?

divider-21.jpg

more bookish stuff:

โ™ก Instagramย โ™ก Twitterย โ™ก Tumblrย โ™กย 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “MINI BOOK (overdue) REVIEWS #1: REVIEW COPIES (mostly fantasy) EDITION

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s