Uncategorized

SUMMER 2018 COMMENT CHALLENGE (JULY)

Hey, avid readers!

This is just a quick announcement or update that I will be participating in the amazing Summer 2018 Comment Challenge for the month of July! This is my first time doing this and I am super excited! As a full-time stay-at-home person, I decided to commit to the 10+ comments in a month and I hope to have lots of fun in this thing. ❤

Thank you so much to the hosts, Lonna @ FLYLēF and Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense, for making this awesome thing that will connect bloggers possible!

divider 2

more bookish stuff:

♡ Instagram ♡ Twitter ♡ Tumblr ♡ YouTube ♡ Goodreads ♡ Pinterest

Advertisements
Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts · Uncategorized

BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS | 002

Hello, avid readers!

Woah, I can’t believe that it’s already been a week since I posted my first Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts!

Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts is a weekly book meme tag created by Christine @ Bookishly BoisterousBookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts is a chance for book bloggers to dabble in areas besides books (but those are welcome too). Share your plans for the weekend, a rant on people not using their turn signals in parking lots, or your love of Sunday morning mimosas.

The past week was both good and bad, both thrilling and boring. Oh, I just love the yin-yang effect of this week and I’m so excited to share with you my bookish (and not so bookish) thoughts!

Continue reading “BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS | 002”

Uncategorized

REVIEW: What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum | #WTSNPHBlogTour

TITLE: What To Say Next

AUTHOR: Julie Buxbaum

PUBLISHER: Penguin Random House

PUBLICATION DATE: July 11, 2017

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.
  
Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they?  I don’t even understand.
 
DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her. 

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David.  Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

MY REVIEW:

What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum is a weird (“good weird” 😉) book for me. It has weird (“good weird”😁) main characters. It has a good weird plot. I good weirdly love it!

My attention hasn’t been caught until Chapter 7. For the first six chapters, I thought it was kind of slow-paced, and I hate slow-paced books. But, when I got to Chapter 7, I already thought that “Wow, it’s getting interesting!”

Before reading this book, I have zero idea of what it is about. I think the synopsis is so vague, especially when you get to actually read the book, you’ll just realize that the synopsis gives nothing about what the book is really about; and I think it’s good. It’s good to be surprisingly amazed!

This is my first time reading a book by Julie Buxbaum and I’m thinking why I haven’t read Tell Me Three Things (and her two other novels) before. Now, I’m putting Tell Me Three Things on my to-buy-and-to-read-ASAP list because I REALLY LOVE JULIE BUXBAUM’S WRITING!

What I love about What To Say Next:

  • It’s so fun to read! I really enjoyed it. I enjoyed getting to know David and Kit.
  • It’s like David and Kit are my BFFs and they’re telling me their story! It’s so cool to be part of the their tribe. 😉
  • It is such a DIVERSE read! 💓
  • It has unique characters and unique plot.
  • David is so weird, good weird.
  • I get to know more about David’s situation (I’m not gonna say what situation because I think it’s spoilery? 😀)
  • I feel so connected with David and Kit.
  • I love how the feeling of loss and being different was dealt so real and raw here.
  • All these are caused by one thing actually: SUPERB WRITING!

There’s only one thing that I didn’t like about it though. It’s the last part, like the last four or five chapters. I think the ending is somehow good, but I think it could be better. It’s just that I feel cheated. But nevertheless, I want more of David and Kit! 💓

I recommend this if to everyone. You’ll surely love it! It’s now my new favorite YA contemporary novel. Welcome to my tribe!

*Thank you so much to Fay of Bibliophile Soprano and to Penguin Random House for making this blog tour happen. This, however, does not affect my opinion on the book.*

MY RATING: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

BUY IT HERE:

Book Depository | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Enter here for a chance to win a finished copy of What To Say Next!

Book Review · Review 2017 · Uncategorized

REVIEW + GIVEAWAY: Everything All At Once by Katrina Leno

TITLE: Everything All At Once

AUTHOR: Katrina Leno

PUBLISHER: HarperCollins

PUBLICATION DATE: July 25, 2017

newproject_1_original

From the author of The Half Life of Molly Pierce and The Lost & Found comes a magical new YA novel about 24 dares, 3 weeks, and taking a leap into the unknown.

Lottie Reeves has always struggled with anxiety, and when her beloved Aunt Helen dies, Lottie begins to fear that her own unexpected death might be waiting around every corner.

Aunt Helen wasn’t a typical aunt. She was the author of the best–selling Alvin Hatter series, about siblings who discover the elixir of immortality. Her writing inspired a generation of readers.

In her will, she leaves one last writing project—just for Lottie. It’s a series of letters, each containing mysterious instructions designed to push Lottie out of her comfort zone. Soon, Lottie’s trying some writing of her own, leaping off cliffs, and even falling for a boy she’s only just met. Then the letters reveal an extraordinary secret about the inspiration for the Alvin Hatter series. Lottie finds herself faced with an impossible choice, one that will force her to confront her greatest fear once and for all.

This gorgeous novel is perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, with the scavenger hunt feel of Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes, and a dash of magic that evokes Tuck Everlasting.

(Read more for my review.)

Continue reading “REVIEW + GIVEAWAY: Everything All At Once by Katrina Leno”

Book Review · Uncategorized

REVIEW: Fireworks by Katie Cotugno

18444209_535156263274945_9144119230134747136_n

TITLE: Fireworks

AUTHOR: Katie Cotugno

PUBLISHER: HarperCollins

PUBLICATION DATE: April 18, 2017

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

From Katie Cotugno, bestselling author of 99 Days, comes Fireworks—about a girl who is competing with her best friend to become the new pop star of the moment—and all the drama and romance that comes with it—set in Orlando during the late-’90s boy-and-girl-band craze.

It was always meant to be Olivia. She was the talented one, the one who had been training to be a star her whole life. Her best friend, Dana, was the level-headed one, always on the sidelines, cheering her best friend along.

But everything changes when Dana tags along with Olivia to Orlando for the weekend, where superproducer Guy Monroe is holding auditions for a new singing group, and Dana is discovered too. Dana, who’s never sung more than Olivia’s backup. Dana, who wasn’t even looking for fame. Next thing she knows, she and Olivia are training to be pop stars, and Dana is falling for Alex, the earnest, endlessly talented boy who’s destined to be the next big thing.

It should be a dream come true, but as the days of grueling practice and constant competition take their toll, things between Olivia and Dana start to shift . . . and there’s only room at the top for one girl. For Olivia, it’s her chance at her dream. For Dana, it’s a chance to escape a future that seems to be closing in on her. And for these lifelong best friends, it’s the adventure of a lifetime—if they can make it through.

Set in evocative 1990s Orlando, New York Times bestselling author Katie Cotugno’s Fireworks brings to life the complexity of friendship, the excitement of first love, and the feeling of being on the verge of greatness.

(Read more for my review.)

Continue reading “REVIEW: Fireworks by Katie Cotugno”

Book Review · Uncategorized

REVIEW: South Haven by Hirsh Sawhney

TITLE: South Haven

AUTHOR: Hirsh Sawhney

PUBLISHER: Akashic Books

PUBLICATION DATE: May 3, 2016

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

Siddharth Arora lives an ordinary life in the New England suburb of South Haven, but his childhood comes to a grinding halt when his mother dies in a car accident. Siddharth soon gravitates toward a group of adolescent bullies, drinking and smoking instead of drawing and swimming. He takes great pains to care for his depressive father, Mohan Lal, an immigrant who finds solace in the hateful Hindu fundamentalism of his homeland and cheers on Indian fanatics who murder innocent Muslims. When a new woman enters their lives, Siddharth and his father have a chance at a fresh start. They form a new family, hoping to leave their pain behind them.

South Haven is no simple coming-of-age tale or hero’s journey, blurring the line between victim and victimizer and asking readers to contend with the lies we tell ourselves as we grieve and survive. Following in the tradition of narratives by Edwidge Danticat and Junot Díaz, Sawhney draws upon the measured lyricism of postcolonial writers like Michael Ondaatje but brings to his subjects distinctly American irreverence and humor.

(Read more for my review)

Continue reading “REVIEW: South Haven by Hirsh Sawhney”

Book Review · Uncategorized

REVIEW: Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

TITLE: Of Fire and Stars

AUTHOR: Audrey Coulthurst

PUBLISHER: Balzer + Bray

PUBLICATION DATE: November 22, 2016

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile lands. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire—a dangerous gift for the future queen of a kingdom where magic is forbidden.

Now, Denna must learn the ways of her new home while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria’s formidable warhorses before her coronation—and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine (called Mare), sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, each discovers there’s more to the other than she thought. Mare is surprised by Denna’s intelligence and bravery, while Denna is drawn to Mare’s independent streak. Soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms—and each other.

(Read more for my review)

Continue reading “REVIEW: Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst”